Robot/Mechanical Studies

As I continued in my Xenogears reboot personal project this week, I spent lots of time sketching reference material.   Having completed Fei’s redesign, I thought Weltall, his gear/mech would be an interesting challenge to redesign next.

The original Weltall Designs from Xenogears

The original Weltall design from Xenogears redrawn.  Some key features that I may or may not include in my own design: two giant rockets attached to its back along with 2 large wings, humanoid build, large feet with 3 toes, large head fin facing backwards on small head, birdlike face, broad & heavy shoulders

Weltall's helmet somewhat resembled a samurai mask, so I did a couple of sketches to point my mind in that direction

Weltall’s helmet somewhat resembled a samurai mask, so I did a couple of sketches to point my mind in that direction

Below are just a few mechanical leg and arm studies I did to get an idea of some of the forms I would be using in my redesign:

robo-arms-legs

robo-legs-2

robo-legs

Leave a Reply

