A New Journey

Here’s the 2nd update for this week:  I made big changes to my entry for the Artstation.com 2D Character Challenge, in both my overall story and the composition.  My previous composition ended up looking more like an environment illustration than a character-focused concept, so I ended up scrapping it altogether and keeping a few elements: the chimp is still going on a journey to space, the boy still has a stuffed chimp, only this time the little boy is going to space with his pet.  I pictured a dramatic scene with the astronauts walking slo-mo style towards the camera and looking off into the distance.  I have included a few iterations below:

The first try…

Cleaned up foreground with much better faces…

Cleaned up the lines some…

Added some garish base colors just because I felt like it…

And now some added values, mostly to capture the strong sunlight coming in from the left….to be continued!

Leave a Reply

