3/26/15 Sketchbook Update

Today I have included some composition value studies along with my usual animal studies.  The paintings I have studied for the most part have very simple but well crafted shapes in their compositions and I would like to incorporate more interesting shape language in my own work: shapes that draw your attention at a gut level…Anyway, here is some of what I’ve been doing the last week:

Another Tron Legacy study, I think I spent a little too much time on this one...Not that this movie was a masterpiece, but I'm still excited that there's gonna be a Tron 3!

Another Tron Legacy study, I think I spent a little too much time on this one…Not that this movie was a masterpiece, but I’m still excited that there’s gonna be a Tron 3!

 

A value study of an intriguing painting, I liked the shapes in this one, so I tried to limit myself to only 4 values.

A value study of an intriguing painting, I liked the shapes in this one, so I tried to limit myself to only 4 values..

 

A value study of one of my favorite current concept artists: Bastien Grivet.

A value study of one of my favorite current concept artists: Bastien Grivet.

 

Value study of "Winged Perch" by Concept Artist and Illustrator Christopher Balaskas.

Value study of “Winged Perch” by Concept Artist and Illustrator Christopher Balaskas.

 

...and one more study of an unknown painting, really trying to focus on separating out shapes with only a few values.

…and one more study of an unknown painting, really trying to focus on separating out shapes with only a few values.

 

A close-up facial study of the African Wild Dog

Back to the animal studies: a close-up facial study of the African Wild Dog from last week.

 

Horses

Horses

 

Cattle

Cattle

 

White Rhinoceros

White Rhinoceros

 

 

Leave a Reply

